The Bob Davis Award

Recognising substantial contributions to the health of people with intellectual and developmental disability in Australia

bobdavisawardEstablished in 2015 and bestowed annually, this award recognises medical, other health professionals or individuals who have made substantial contributions to the healthcare of people with intellectual or developmental disability in Australia. The contributions may be in the areas of advocacy, clinical practice, research or education.

The award is in recognition of Associate Professor Bob Davis’, foundation President of AADDM, contributions to the health of people with intellectual or developmental disability. Bob established the first Developmental Disability Unit in Australia in 1991 and has worked with strenuously over more than 25 years to improve the health and healthcare of adults with intellectual disability through clinical practice, advocacy, research and education. Bob’s major contribution was recognised by the Victorian Government when in 2014 he was awarded the Victorian Minister for Health General Practitioner award.


Previous Winners

2022: Dr Jane Tracy

2019: Associate Professor Helen Leonard

2018: Mr Jim Simpson

2017: Associate Professor Lynette Lee

2016: Dr Margaret Kyrkou

2015: Prof Nick Lennox


Nomination Process

AADDM members will be invited to nominate suitable candidates for this award on an annual basis using the form below. The nominee need not be a member of AADDM. The recipient of the award is determined by a nominations committee, ratified by the AADDM executive and will be announced at the Annual General Meeting.